top of page
  • Writer's pictureDe’Andrea Cherry

REVIEW: The Black Phone


You know, when a movie holds 100% on Rotten Tomatoes for ANY amount of time, it's bound to pique the interest of film enthusiasts everywhere. In this case, a horror film starring Ethan Hawke seemed to me like it was going to be the hit horror film of the year; but alas I can see why the Tomatometer deflated after a few days.

I'm not going to lie, they had me in the first half of the movie! I was impressed by the writing, and the main focus of the movie, the kids, did a phenomenal job delivering their lines and creating standout moments in the movie. That I have to commend the writers and producers. Although, once the story started to unfold, I was already starting to doze off. I'll try and keep this short and spoiler free. The Black Phone follows the same template as most mediocre horror films released in the past 5 years and unfortunately, it added nothing to the conversation. The only 'scary' parts of the movies were the jump scares, and even that had to rely on LOUD noises to get a reaction out of folks. If you're into Ethan Hawke and a well-preformed script, then sure this movie does that FINE, but, if you're a horror fan and thought you found the next Sinister, don't get your hopes up.


Overall rating: 5/10

Re-watchablility: Nah.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page